Getty Images

The 2023 World Baseball Classic wrapped up Tuesday night with Shohei Ohtani and Japan holding off the United States in the championship game. It's the third WBC title for Japan, which denied Team USA a second championship in a row. Japan went unbeaten in the tournament, coming from behind to beat Mexico on Monday in the semifinals before a 3-2 win over the U.S. in the final on Tuesday.

This year's WBC was the fifth installment of the tournament, and Japan has now won 60% of WBC titles. The nation will try to defend the title in 2026 when the WBC returns.

With Japan adding to the World Baseball Classic record books on Tuesday, let's take a look back at WBC history. Here's a full list of the event's winners, the runner-up and tournament MVP. (Note: The 2021 World Baseball Classic was pushed back to this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.)

List of World Baseball Classic winners


  • Winner: Japan
  • Runner-up: Cuba
  • World Baseball Classic MVP: Daisuke Matsuzaka
Daisuke Matsuzaka led Japan to the inaugural WBC title in 2006. Getty Images


  • Winner: Japan
  • Runner-up: South Korea
  • World Baseball Classic MVP: Daisuke Matsuzaka


  • Winner: Dominican Republic
  • Runner-up: Puerto Rico
  • World Baseball Classic MVP: Robinson Canó
Robinson Canó was tournament MVP for the Dominican Republic in 2013. Getty Images


  • Winner: United States
  • Runner-up: Puerto Rico
  • World Baseball Classic MVP: Marcus Stroman


  • Winner: Japan
  • Runner-up: United States
  • World Baseball Classic MVP: Shohei Ohtani
CountryNumber of World Baseball Classic titles


3 (2006, 2009, 2023)

Dominican Republic

1 (2013)

United States

1 (2017)